Skip to content

Question of the Reading Week

September 27, 2013

If you could go on a ride–one ride–in any kind of conveyance you’ve ever read about, what would you pick as your chosen vehicle this week?  Maybe because it’s nice weather for a certain kind of ride, or because you’d like to get to somewhere in particular?

My choice–this week and always–would be the Heart of Gold from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, with its improbability drive.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 27, 2013 7:49 am

    Hmmm, nothing from Harry Potter – they would probably make me sick (esp floo powder and the night bus). Maybe Huck and Jim’s raft

    • September 29, 2013 9:32 pm

      The raft sounds pleasant for a day, as long as the Duke and Dauphin aren’t hogging all the space.

  2. Karen D permalink
    September 27, 2013 8:59 am

    Maybe a Firebolt. But only if Madam Pomfrey was standing by.

  3. Karen D permalink
    September 27, 2013 8:59 am

    Oooh…or on the back of Iorek Byrnison, assuming I had his consent.

  4. September 27, 2013 10:10 am

    I’m jealous of your answers, but I won’t copy it! I’m going to say the car in The Phantom Tollbooth. Imagine getting to explore that world!

    • September 29, 2013 9:38 pm

      you could count a flight with Tock as a bonus, right?

  5. September 27, 2013 12:27 pm

    Falkor the luck dragon in Neverending Story

  6. Jenny permalink
    September 27, 2013 2:17 pm

    Flying on the back of a goose, and later on by myself, as Georgie did in The Fledgling by Jane Langton.

    If that’s too much to ask (it always was when I wished it as a child) then my own feet, as at the end of The Last Battle: “If one could run without getting tired, I don’t think one would often want to do anything else.”

    • September 29, 2013 9:41 pm

      I loved The Fledgling; I don’t think that’s too much to ask! Although it would be fun to be able to run without getting tired.

  7. September 29, 2013 8:39 am

    On Shadowfax.

  8. September 29, 2013 9:53 am

    The bed in Bedknobs and Broomsticks. Or possibly the carpet from The Phoenix and the Carpet.

    • September 29, 2013 9:42 pm

      Oh, and the charm of the bed, in particular, is that you wouldn’t have to go alone!

  9. September 29, 2013 5:20 pm

    I don’t know what my real answer to this is, but I can’t stop thinking about the time in The Witch Family when Amy decides to go on JUST ONE RIDE on her witch friend’s broomstick, and then everything goes terribly wrong. What if the same thing happened to me? I would have thought I was in for a joyride but instead I would experience disaster?

    • September 29, 2013 9:43 pm

      Oh, you. One would think you’d read lots of fairy tales where everything has a price.

  10. Karen D permalink
    September 30, 2013 12:52 pm

    Can I add Gwaihir to my list of fantasy rides? If Gandalf wasn’t too big to ride, I shouldn’t be either, even if I’m not a hobbit.

    • September 30, 2013 1:26 pm

      oh yeah, another good one, if you’re not afraid of heights…

Leave a Reply

