Skip to content

Literary quiz

November 1, 2013

These are from Who Killed Iago, by James Walton (who based them on a BBC radio quiz show called The Write Stuff).

Literary Firsts and One-offs

1. What literary character’s first words to whom are “How are you? You have been in Afghanistan, I perceive?”

2. Which writer’s first names were John Ronald Reuel?

3. Who was the first American writer to win the Nobel Prize for Literature–in 1930, if that helps?

4. Who won the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for fiction with his first novel, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao?

5. What’s the title of Maya Angelou’s first volume of autobiography?

6. What’s the only book for children by James Bond’s creator, Ian Fleming?

7. Who, in 1940, was the first African American author to be chosen for the Book-of-the-Month Club, with his novel Native Son?

8. What are the first three words of Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick?

9. Who wrote the 1984 novel First Among Equals?

10. Who, in 1975, became the only fictional character to receive an obituary in the New York Times? (Clue: the character’s creator was British, but the character wasn’t.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2013 7:00 am

    1. Sherlock Holmes

    2. Tolkien

    3. I only know this one because it was a crossword puzzle clue within the last week or two. Sinclair Lewis

    4. Junot Diaz

    5. What’s the title of Maya Angelou’s first volume of autobiography?

    6. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

    7. Richard Wright

    8. Call Me Ishmael

    9. Don’t know. Grr. There’s always one.

    10. Hercule Poirot

  2. November 1, 2013 8:52 am

    1. Sherlock Holmes

    2. Tolkein!

    4. Junot Diaz

    5. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

    6. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

    7. Richard Wright (I just read this)

    8. Call me Ishmael

    9. I don’t know, but I immediately thought of Fforde “First AMong Sequels”

  3. November 1, 2013 1:31 pm

    I don’t know all these. But I know some!
    1. Sherlock Holmes
    2. JRR tolkien
    3. NO IDEA.
    4. junot Diaz
    5. Not one hundred percent sure of this, but is it I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings?
    6. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (one of my husband’s favorite books)
    7.Richard Wright
    8. “Call me Ishmael.”
    9. no idea…again.
    10. Still no idea. But I looked it up! And someone is correct!

  4. November 2, 2013 8:34 pm

    Well, I knew all the ones Mumsy knew. We would not be useful on a team together. :p

  5. November 3, 2013 9:22 am

    1. Homes to Watson.
    2 Tolkien
    5 I know why the caged bird sings
    7 Richard Wright
    8 Call me Ishmael.

  6. November 4, 2013 10:02 am

    1. Sherlock Holmes to Dr. Watson in A Study in Scarlet
    2. J.R.R. Tolkien
    3. Sinclair Lewis
    4. Junot Diaz
    5. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
    6. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
    7. Richard Wright
    8. “Call me Ishmael.”
    9. Jeffrey Archer
    10. Hercule Poirot

Leave a Reply

