Skip to content

Literary Trivia

November 22, 2013

Endings, from Literary Trivia by Richard Lederer and Michael Gilleland:

“L-d, said my mother, what is all this story about? –A COCK and a BULL, said Yorick–And one of the best kind I ever heard” is the ending of Laurence Sterne’s Tristram Shandy.

Can you identify the titles from the endings that appear below?

1. “But I reckon I got to light out for the Territory ahead of the rest because Aunt Sally she’s going to adopt me and sivilize me and I can’t stand it. I been there before.”

2. “After all, tomorrow is another day.”

3. “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

4. “Villains! I shrieked, dissemble no more! I admit the deed!–tear up the planks!–here! here!–it is the beating of his hideous heart!”

5.”They endured.”

6. “Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.”

7. “It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I got to, than I have ever known.”

8. “Who knows but that, on lower frequencies, I speak for you.”

9. “So I awoke, and behold, it was a dream.”

10. “I lingered round them, under that benign sky; watched the moths fluttering among the heath and harebells; listened to the soft wind breathing through the grass; and wondered how any one could ever imagine unquiet slumbers for the sleepers in that quiet earth.”

11. “That might be the subject of a new story–but our present story is ended.”

12. “Vale.”

13. “There were three thousand six hundred and fifty-three days like this in his sentence, from reveille to lights out. The three extra ones were because of the leap years.”

14. “There is more day to dawn. The sun is but a morning star.”

15. “Nowadays the world is lit by lightning! Blow out your candles, Laura–and so goodbye…”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen D permalink
    November 22, 2013 8:33 am

    1. Huckleberry Finn!
    2. Gone with the Wind?

    4. The Tell-Tale Heart

    7. A Tale of Two Cities

    9. The Book of Revelation? (No, I know. I really want it to be A Christmas Carol, though I know it isn’t. Honestly, it sounds a little bit like something out of CS Lewis. )

    13. This sounds like it ought to be Solzhenitsyn’s book about prison camps…

    On looking things up, I find I’ve actually read 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 14 as well. But it seems like cheating to list them, since I didn’t recall the titles from the last lines.

  2. November 22, 2013 8:41 am

    1. Huck Finn
    2. Gone with the Wind
    3. The Great Gatsby
    4. The Tell-Tale Heart
    6. I’m guessing Catcher in the Rye but don’t actually remember.
    7. Dickens but I can’t remember which one don’t judge me!
    14. Walden
    15. don’t actually know but it has to be either The Glass Menagerie or The Woman in White because those are the only books I can think of with a character called Laura.

    …Not great. I am not pleased with myself.

  3. November 22, 2013 11:43 am

    1) Huckleberry Finn
    2) Gone With the Wind
    3) Great Gatsby
    4) Tell-Tale Heart
    5) ?
    6) Catcher in the Rye
    7) Tale of Two Cities
    8) ?
    9) I want to say Gulliver’s Travels but I don’t think that’s right
    10) Wuthering Heights
    11) Crime and Punishment
    12) ?
    13) ?
    14) Walden
    15) ?

    That was hard. And I’m going to probably kick myself when I find out what the ones I didn’t know are!

  4. November 22, 2013 12:21 pm

    1. Huck Finn

    2. Gone with the Wind

    3. Great Gatsby

    4. Tell-Tale Heart

    7. A Tale of Two Cities

  5. November 22, 2013 9:01 pm

    Ooh. This is hard. I know 1-3, and 4 seems obvious when someone else lists it. Just looked up 5 and I don’t know it because I have never read that author. Amazing, huh? 6 seems to clearly be Catcher in the Rye and 7 Tale of two Cities. And I really don’t know the rest, although 14 does sound Waldenish, so I think Jenny and Stephanie are right.

  6. November 23, 2013 2:57 pm

    1. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

    2. Gone with the Wind

    3. The Great Gatsby

    4. The Telltale Heart. Is it bad that this always makes me think of that Simpsons episode? Probably.

    5. The Sound and the Fury

    6. Catcher in the Rye

    7. Tale of Two Cities. I’m trying to think of another book where both the first and last sentences are as iconic as this one, but I can’t do it. I was a little obsessed with this book when I was about my son’s age.

    8. Invisible Man?

    9. ?

    10. Wuthering Heights

    11. Crime and Punishment

    12. ? I feel like I should know this one, but I can’t think of it.

    13. Is this Ivan Denisovich?

    14. Walden

    15. The Glass Menagerie

  7. November 25, 2013 8:54 am

    1. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    2. Gone With the Wind
    3. The Great Gatsby
    4. The Tell-Tale Heart
    5. The Sound and the Fury
    6. The Catcher in the Rye
    7. A Tale of Two Cities
    8. Invisible Man
    9. Pilgrim’s Progress
    10. Wuthering Heights
    11. Crime and Punishmen
    12. Don Quixote
    13. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich
    14. Walden
    15. The Glass Menagerie

Leave a Reply

