Skip to content

Literary Quiz

November 29, 2013

from  “One After the Other: An Alphabetical Round” in Who Killed Iago? by James Walton

1. What’s the third in Louisa M. Alcott’s series of novels about the March sisters?

2. What’s the actual name (not the nickname) of the most famous literary creation of Leslie Charteris?

3. Which novelist gave the eulogy at the memorial service for Benny Hill?

4. Which thousand-page novel of 1996 is set in a North America where Canada, the United States, and Mexico are unified?

5. Whose last two novels were The Years and Between the Acts?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2013 9:01 am

    1. What’s the third in Louisa M. Alcott’s series of novels about the March sisters?

    This is kind of a trick question. In England, where I lived when I first read Little Women, Little Women is two books (or it was when I was a kid): Little Women and Little Wives. Which would make Little Men the third. But I’m guessing they’re looking for Jo’s Boys.

    2. What’s the actual name (not the nickname) of the most famous literary creation of Leslie Charteris?

    The Saint!

    3. Which novelist gave the eulogy at the memorial service for Benny Hill?

    ?

    4. Which thousand-page novel of 1996 is set in a North America where Canada, the United States, and Mexico are unified?

    Infinite Jest

    5. Whose last two novels were The Years and Between the Acts?

    Virginia Woolf

    • November 29, 2013 9:21 am

      On #2, you’ve given the character’s nickname. I read all of those books at an impressionable age–my friend Tana loaned me the first few, and I made my way through the rest at a great pace.

  2. November 29, 2013 9:24 am

    Oh, duh. Simon Templar. I just read the question too fast. I read them all too, and discovered them about the same time as LIttle Women, actually. The show was on TV when we moved to London and I think I came to it first that way and then found the books at the library.

  3. November 29, 2013 12:13 pm

    I only knew the Little Women question, I’m afraid. I was going to go with Little Men as well, because I am a stickler for accuracy. :p

  4. November 29, 2013 1:34 pm

    Ha, ha. I didn’t know any of them!

  5. November 29, 2013 2:24 pm

    Goose eggs here 😉

  6. M Denise C permalink
    November 29, 2013 11:37 pm

    I read Jo’s Boys a long time ago, as well as Little Men, but could not remember the title. 😦

  7. December 2, 2013 8:35 am

    1. Little Men–the first two being Little Women and Good Wives (now often published together)
    2. Simon Templar aka The Saint
    3. Anthony Burgess. In the eulogy he compared Hill to Plautus, Falstaff, and Rabelais.
    4. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
    5. Virginia Woolf

Leave a Reply

