Skip to content

Hardy quiz

February 21, 2014

For the hardy literary trivia lover, and about Thomas Hardy (from Who Killed Iago by James Walton).

As what is Michael Henchard known in the title of a Hardy novel?

Which Hardy novel takes its title from a phrase in Thomas Gray’s “Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard”?

Which Hardy novel opens on a Saturday in November, with twilight falling over Egdon Heath?

The savage critical reception of which book is generally agreed to be the reason Hardy gave up writing novels?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2014 12:04 am

    I’ve read so much Hardy that I should know all of these, but it was 25 years ago. The answer to the last one is Jude the Obscure, but a lot of us think he didn’t really have another novel in him. I’ll let other commentors with better memories take up the other questions.

  2. February 22, 2014 10:18 am

    Egdon Heath….that was The Return of the Native, a book I loathed in high school and have not attempted since.

  3. February 22, 2014 5:13 pm

    A Thomas Hardy quiz! A Thomas Hardy quiz! I was almost afraid to look at the questions before I’d be so embarrassed if I didn’t know the answers, but I know them all 🙂 Mayor of Casterbridge, Far from the Madding Crowd, Return of the Native, and Jude the Obscure.

    I can’t decide if Tess or Jude is my favorite Hardy novel. It’s been too long since I reread Tess, and Jude is fresher in my memory, which means I tend to love it more these days. The film version of Jude also features a scene involving both the Ninth Doctor and the Tenth Doctor (Christopher Eccleston plays Jude, and David Tennant has a bit part taunting Jude in a pub), and it makes me almost unreasonably happy, especially given that there’s nothing at all happy about that book.

    I have a hard time shutting up about Thomas Hardy.

    • February 24, 2014 9:28 am

      You’re right! And now I want to watch the film version of Jude!

  4. February 22, 2014 7:01 pm

    I think the first one is Mayor of Casterbridge, which I taught at least once to high school juniors, but have since all but forgotten.

    I feel like I should know the second one, but I can’t recall that poem very clearly to mind either.

    Hmmmm… I think I’m seeing a theme here.

  5. February 23, 2014 10:53 am

    I know The Mayor of Casterbridge, and I’m guessing Far from the Madding Crowd for the second one. I don’t know the others though.

  6. February 24, 2014 9:33 am

    The Mayor of Casterbridge.
    Far From the Madding Crowd. (“Far from the madding crowd’s ignoble strife/ Their sober wishes never learned to stray.”)
    The Return of the Native. That opening also features in the Monty Python sketch “Novel Writing from Dorset.”
    Jude the Obscure. (or as it was dubbed by journalists at the time, Jude the Obscene.) For the last 33 years of his life, Hardy wrote only poetry.

Leave a Reply

