Skip to content

Shakespeare trivia

August 21, 2014

I’m off again, this time to Vancouver, BC for a Supernatural Convention with Eleanor, whose birthday we are celebrating, and our friend Glynis (the person who made my great blog header).

Until I get back and write some proper book reviews, I leave you with these trivia questions, from Literary Trivia by Richard Lederer and Michael Gilleland.

Cudgel thy brains to complete these expressions that first saw the light in the plays of William Shakespeare:

1. All the world’s a ______. (As You Like It)
2. As good ______ would have it. (The Merry Wives of Windsor)
3. The better part of valor is ______. (Henry IV, Part I)
4. A blinking ______. (The Merchant of Venice)
5. Break the ______. (The Taming of the Shrew)
6. Breath’d his ______. (Henry VI, Part III)
7. Come full ______. (King Lear)
8. The course of true love never did run ______. (A Midsummer Night’s Dream)
9. Eaten me out of house and ______. (Henry IV, Part II)
10. Every ______ a king. (King Lear)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. rohanmaitzen permalink
    August 21, 2014 9:36 pm

    My home town! Have a wonderful time.

    • September 1, 2014 11:28 am

      We did! We took the train from the airport and then saw a little bit of city center and Gastown, but mostly stayed in the convention hotel.

  2. Karen d permalink
    August 22, 2014 12:53 am

    Stage
    Luck
    discretion
    Eye
    Stalemate
    Last
    Circle
    Smooth
    Home
    Man’s

    • September 1, 2014 11:33 am

      You’re brushed up on your Shakespeare, but getting the gist sometimes, rather than the exact word…

      • September 4, 2014 3:49 pm

        Eh, I knew I wasn’t getting all of them right!

  3. August 22, 2014 9:20 am

    1. stage
    3. discretion
    4. idiot
    7. circle
    8. smooth
    9. home
    10. inch

  4. August 23, 2014 12:01 pm

    I’m ashamed I don’t know more of these. I need to do some more Shakespeare reading.

  5. August 24, 2014 6:02 pm

    A SUPERNATURAL CONVENTION? Pleeeeaaaaase post about this.

    • September 1, 2014 11:30 am

      Oh, I will! Coming back to run an orientation and then getting ready for the start of classes at three different colleges was hard, but now most of it is done and I can go back to my writing routines.

  6. August 31, 2014 8:33 pm

    I hope you had a great time!

    • September 1, 2014 11:30 am

      We really did. I’d never done anything like it before.

  7. September 1, 2014 11:31 am

    And the answers:
    1. stage
    2. luck
    3. discretion
    4. idiot
    5. ice
    6. last
    7. circle
    8. smooth
    9. home
    10. inch

Leave a Reply

