Skip to content

The Magician’s Land

September 16, 2014

I read The Magician’s Land at the very first opportunity, on an e-reader while flying back from London this summer. Because it is so good and I liked it so much, I gulped it down in horrendously big bites, clicking the page turn button almost rhythmically every 30-40 seconds until it was over.

Then I knew another part of why I had loved The Magicians and The Magician King so much—because they were building towards this story, which is, in the end, a story about how being a fantasy writer is like being a magician—you build your own land, and you populate it with creatures you find magical and hope that your readers will, too.

Quentin has tried his hand at something like fan fiction—becoming a king of Fillory in The Magician King—but in this third book of the series, he successfully works a spell to create his own land: “Magic was wild feelings, the kind that escaped out of you and into the world and changed things. There was a lot of skill to it, and a lot of learning, and a lot of work, but that was where the power began: the power to enchant the world.”

The beginning of Quentin’s new ability to create is his discovery of what his talent is, as a “physical kid.” His “talent” is part of the metaphor about writing, a necessary step along the way to being able to do it independently, out of one’s own head. He has grown from one of the kids who “used to run around their backyards or basement rec rooms or whatever they ran around in pretending they were Martin Chatwin, boy-hero of a magical world of green fields and talking animals where they would attain total and complete self-actualization” into an adult magician, more than a king, with more skill and better intentions than a necromancer, and more responsible for his own creations than a god.

I mention necromancy because Quentin manages to bring Alice back. She has not been dead, exactly, but turned into a niffin, a dangerous magical creature that no one has ever turned back into a person before. He manages it, although right before he succeeds she looks like “a wasp who’d been trapped in a jar and then shaken, and she was ready to sting. She was the most beautiful, terrible thing he’d ever seen.” As her humanity comes back to her, she remembers bits from her old life until the glorious moment when she rescues Quentin’s quest to save Fillory from apocalypse by punching Penny, because Penny can’t let go of his determination to impose a fine on Quentin for keeping a page from one of his Neitherlands books for a year:
“I’ve waited a long time for this,” Penny said.
“Then this is going to be kind of an anticlimax,” Alice said, and she punched him in the face.

Umber, one of the twin ram gods of Fillory, confesses that he thought “that if I possessed Martin’s humanity, I could be king of Fillory. As well as god. A god-king, you might say.” None of his actions or his excuses satisfy the kings and queens of Fillory, however, who think that “he had a way of not taking responsibility for things.”

As I’ve grown to expect in the Magician novels, the details are a big part of the fun. Quentin’s escape with his gang from a group of rival magicians happens like this:
“They swarmed out through the empty windows like angry bees out of a hive. Plum and Stoppard rode leather club chairs; Betsy had a small prayer rug that had been in front of the fireplace, which she handled standing up, surfboard-style; Quentin got the penny-farthing bicycle. Pushkar himself, along with Lionel and the bird, had taken command of the enormous pool table, which despite its size and weight had turned out to be surprisingly amenable to flight spells.”

We get to see the apocalypse in Fillory:
“A tall and rather august man in a tuxedo had joined the fray, fighting bare-handed, and Janet thought she recognized him from Quentin’s stories about the edge of the world. The battle was dissolving into frantic scrums featuring all kinds of weird shit she’d never even seen before: a burning suit of armor, a man who seemed to be woven out of rope, another who was just built out of pebbles. To the south a towering dune had finally crested the Copper Mountains, and surfing on it like a mad thing was a tremendous clipper ship crewed by—rabbits? For real? Was that something from the books? It had been so long. They came ripping down the steep slopes, heeled over.”

In the end the reader of this book, like 8-year-old Quentin, remembers the kind of book that made her feel “awe and joy and hope and longing all at once,” and it turns out that the character has made a world from those feelings, which means that the reader, with enough skill and learning and work, might one day be able to join him, or to sail beyond that sunset.

What more could a reader ask?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 16, 2014 2:51 pm

    Not much!

    • September 16, 2014 2:55 pm

      There’s something about this book that leaves its most ardent admirers almost speechless, at least at first!

  2. September 16, 2014 5:28 pm

    I’ve never been much of a fantasy reader so I struggled with The Magicians. I’ve heard several people say the series continues as it goes along but I’m not sure it’s for me.

    • September 16, 2014 5:30 pm

      This series is for people who wanted to go to Narnia, lived part of their mental life in Middle Earth, or waited for their Hogwarts letter.
      Each novel in the series is better than the last one.

  3. September 17, 2014 4:07 am

    I don’t just live in my mental world in Middle Earth, I ‘actually’ live in Tolkien’s Shire so why I haven’t picked up on this series I don’t know. I don’t think it’s received a great deal of publicity in the UK but even so I know about it from the blog world and should have done something about it. Perhaps a binge read of all three over the Christmas holiday?

    • September 18, 2014 11:12 am

      A binge read with these three would be fun, especially since the first one is the least of the series, but essential for setting up the rest.

  4. September 17, 2014 2:23 pm

    I’ve not read the first two and there has been so much buzz around the final book that I have pretty much tuned it all out as over hyped. But now I guess I am going to have to rethink that!

    • September 18, 2014 11:12 am

      I do not believe this final book can be over-hyped.

  5. September 17, 2014 9:16 pm

    You know, I checked this out of the library, and then I returned it to the library without ever feeling a second’s desire to read it. I don’t know why! I liked The Magicians reasonably well, and I liked The Magician King quite a bit. It’s weird that I don’t want to know how the whole thing turns out — but I don’t, not even a bit.

    If that changes, though, I’ll know to expect good things out of it.

    • September 18, 2014 11:14 am

      I wonder if you like being in the middle of all the magic and don’t want it to end, or if you still have a bad taste in your mind from the scene with Julia and the god. If it’s either of those, the third book will make it much, much better.

  6. September 19, 2014 4:21 pm

    I feel a bit like Jenny, except I just don’t feel drawn to the whole series, which makes no sense, since it appears to be exactly my jam. Why? I don’t understand myself. Perhaps I need to be alone with it in a doctor’s office.

Leave a Reply

