Skip to content

Listening to Virginia

September 29, 2014

Driving to, around, and back from Iowa this weekend, I was listening to the first chapters of the audiobooks of Little, Big and Frog Music, which I had checked out of the library for the occasion. Some of my fondest memories of long car trips with Ron and the kids are of the audiobooks we were listening to along the way—the trip to Texas where we listened to all of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and the trip to Missouri when we heard The Enchanted Castle. Now, though, Ron doesn’t care for the kinds of books I can find at the library and the kids read so fast that they are impatient with listening.

Because I had just read “Listening to Virgina” by Jeffrey Harrison, a poem about Virginia Leishman reading To the Lighthouse, I was thinking about it as we drove from Grinnell to find the Field of Dreams movie site.

Getting there was like coming up on Stonehenge from the M4—you’ve been driving along through the countryside for hours, and then suddenly you’re in a place where your imagination has lived. It took us about two and a half hours to drive up to Dyersville from Grinnell. Cornfields. Soybeans. Grain silos. Goldenrod. A stop at a Casey’s General Store for gas and restroom. More cornfields. And then we looked to the left and…there it was–the house and the baseball field! IMG_2367The lights! The bleachers! The porch swing! We had been in an unfamiliar place, and then suddenly we turned left and we were in a place we knew well.

People were out on the field, some throwing real baseballs they’d brought, others catching rubber baseballs from the gift shop, and many just miming throwing and catching. Other people were sitting on the bleachers, watching.

People were always at the edge of the outfield, walking into the rows of corn (and probably saying “I’m melting,” as I did when I walked into a row).photo (3)

It was sunny and warm, and it was hard not to think of my favorite line from the movie the whole time: “Is this heaven? No, it’s Iowa.”

After we’d walked around and seen everything, we supported the maintenance of the field by visiting the gift shop, and then we played some three-way catch to make sure we got some real field of dreams dirt on our two rubber baseballs, one for Walker and one for my brother.IMG_2351

Now, after a Sunday drive back to Ohio from Iowa, I am back to work and driving around town doing errands, but my mind, as always, is in the fictional world, like the speaker of “Listening to Virginia” as he drives around his town:

Driving around town doing errands,
I almost have to pull to the side of the road
because I can’t go on another minute without
seeing the words of some gorgeous passage
in the paperback I keep on the passenger seat…
but I resist that impulse and keep listening,
until it is almost Woolf herself sitting beside me
like some dear great aunt who happens to be a genius
telling me stories in a voice like sparkling waves
and following eddies of thought into the minds
of other people sitting around a dinner table
or strolling under the trees, pulling me along
in the current of her words like a twig riding a stream
around boulders and down foaming cascades,
getting drawn into a whirlpool of consciousness
and sucked under swirling into the thoughts of
someone else, swimming for a time among the reeds
and glinting minnows before breaking free
and popping back up to the surface only to discover
that in my engrossment I’ve overshot
the grocery store and have to turn around,
and even after I’m settled in the parking lot
I can’t stop but sit there with the car idling
because now she is going over it all again
though differently this time, with new details
or from inside the mind of someone else,
as if each person were a hive with its own
murmurs and stirrings, that we visit like bees,
haunting its dark compartments, but reaching
only so far, never to the very heart, the queen’s
chamber where the deepest secrets are stored
(and only there to truly know another person),
though the vibrations and the dance of the worker bees
tell us something, give us something we can take
with us as we fly back out into honeyed daylight.

I miss the feeling of sharing a story, of being part of a group of people who are arriving at a fictional destination along with a real one. I always want something I can take with me as I leave. How about you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2014 4:48 pm

    I like seeing the fictional destinations but audio books are just way too . . . I don’t even know what they are to me but it’s not good. I’d rather read the book than hear it 🙂

    • September 29, 2014 5:45 pm

      I know some book bloggers like to listen to audiobooks on 1.5 speed, but I’ve never had the technology to adjust the speed that way.
      Generally, I’d rather read the book than hear it, too, but long car trips are the exception. I need something with a plot to listen to when I’m driving.

      • September 29, 2014 7:59 pm

        I’d rather have music on. No blabbing, just music.

  2. September 30, 2014 6:34 am

    I’ve never seen Field of Dreams, but I love listening to audiobooks, especially on long drives. Frog Music was great on audio, I thought!

    • September 30, 2014 10:06 am

      Frog Music did what I feel like a lot of the novels I’ve read lately do–got me interested in a character, and then switched the point of view. I may come back to it, but I’m thinking that I want to read it more quickly.

  3. September 30, 2014 1:29 pm

    What a fun trip! Loved the poem. Makes me want to pull my copy of To the Lighthouse off the shelf for a read.

    • October 1, 2014 2:27 pm

      Yes, it does make a person want to re-read (or read for the first time?) To the Lighthouse or Mrs. Dalloway or one of those interior novels.
      I was taken with the part of the poem that reveals the speaker drives around listening to books that he has a copy of beside him. I do that too, especially because if I want to write about an audiobook, I have to be able to pull out some quotations!

  4. October 1, 2014 1:10 pm

    Stunning poem. I bought a bunch of audio books to listen to on car trips and with the exception of one book that I can’t remember the name of (Ugh!), everybody prefers to listen to short stuff (James Herriott stories, a poetry collection, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, Brian Regan).

    • October 1, 2014 2:28 pm

      Good point–it’s easier to intersperse short stuff on audiobooks with periods of music and make everyone happy for a little while.

  5. October 4, 2014 11:01 am

    What an interesting trip! I can’t think now if I’ve ever visited a location I’ve read about in fiction. I must have done, but not so consciously. I used to love the audio books too. We listened to a lot of Just William stories because we all liked them, and then when my son was a bit older, a lot of Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot short stories. I liked that part almost most of all out of our trips.

Leave a Reply

