Skip to content

7th Blog Anniversary

February 3, 2015

Necromancy Never Pays is seven years old today3765709-vector-birthday-cake-with-burning-candles.
Perhaps it has been experiencing a bit of the seven-year itch. Last year at this time I asked for poems you’d like to see reprinted and discussed, and although I delivered on a number of them, I failed to make enough time for others. Reading long poems –like Aurora Lee and The Ring and The Book–required more endurance than I could muster this year. (Sorry, Jenny and Tom.)

Thinking about Blake’s Songs of Innocence and Experience, as James suggested, made me tired in the way that thinking about poems you’ve taught for years can sometimes make you in a year when you’re not teaching them. I will link to the image of one of my favorites, “The Garden of Love,” because a Blake poem is always better with the art. We used to discuss this poem in my class on “relationships in literature,” where most of the students saw it as an expression of pain from someone being told for the first time that his feelings of love were not “right” in the old, strict heteronormative sense.

I am ready for more suggestions of things to read this year–especially if they’re short poems, fiction with metafictional elements, or satiric science fiction.

Thanks for reading and continuing to avoid acts of necromancy!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 3, 2015 9:04 am

    Happy blogiversary! I don’t have anything in those genres to suggest, I’m afraid. I’m busy over here finishing a Scandinavian crime/mystery novel so that I can get cracking on a new Stephen King before the library wants it back.

  2. February 3, 2015 10:00 am

    7 years, how lucky. Congratulations.

    Dis you happen to read Scott Bailey’s series on Browning? That was good stuff. I guess book blogs are not in your list.

    So how about When Mystical Creatures Attack by Kathleen Founds, which has metafictional elements, does it ever. As I wrote, it was book that took me by surprise. It looks like one thing, but is also other things.

    • February 10, 2015 1:01 pm

      It’s true, more book blogs were not on my list…but thanks for the link to Bailey’s series! And thanks for the suggestion; I’ll check it out.

  3. February 3, 2015 10:34 am

    Happy seven years! I have no reading to suggest at the moment but I’m sure I’ll think of something eventually 🙂

  4. February 3, 2015 2:20 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!

  5. magpiemusing permalink
    February 3, 2015 4:53 pm

    happy anniversary! i had coffee with a poet today – which made me think about the fact that the only poetry i have ever really “gotten” are poems by people i know. weird, eh? i have a book by this particular poet, and i like it and her. and another poet – i like her work and her. i could tell you who both of them are, if you like.

    also, currently reading a book of short stories by octavia butler which is chilling and cool and so not what i usually read but i’m liking it. a friend of mine is obsessed with her, which is why she was on my radar screen. i thought short stories would be a good toe-in-water test.

    • February 10, 2015 1:04 pm

      Yes, tell me the poet names!
      I’ve liked everything I’ve read by Butler, particularly the xegenesis trilogy.

  6. the other theo permalink
    February 3, 2015 5:10 pm

    Happy anniversary! A blog of the quality, consistency, and frequency of this one is a difficult achievement to manage for seven years. It is something to be justifiably proud of! Bravo!

  7. February 3, 2015 6:17 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I am reading a beautiful bird book from 1923, a very long book about mining in New Zealand, a book about houses. A book you would probably like is Dear Committee Members. It’s pretty funny, and will take an evening to read. Anyway — happy day!

  8. February 3, 2015 9:10 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!!

  9. February 4, 2015 10:45 pm

    Happy blogging birthday!! I’m sorry you didn’t like Aurora Leigh — Mumsy doesn’t either, though I am personally extremely fond of it. I haven’t got any satiric science fiction, exactly, but Daryl Gregory’s science fiction is at least very very engaged with our contemporary world and its discontents. Mumsy just read Afterparty and really liked it. If you want to try that. I remember you liked Raising Stony Mayhall.

    (Someone on Twitter was just encouraging me to get into necromancy — cause Gregory Peck is dead, yet there is a new book about Atticus Finch that will inevitably be made into a movie — and I thought of you. I knew you would never approve, even for Gregory Peck.)

    • aartichapati permalink
      February 5, 2015 12:31 pm

      Ohmigosh, I dodn’t even think about the movie implications! I wonder who they will have as Atticus.

    • February 10, 2015 1:07 pm

      You’re right that I wouldn’t approve, not even for Gregory Peck as Atticus.
      Thanks for the suggestion!
      You know, I didn’t dislike Aurora Lee. I just never settled to it. I might need to make some longer spans of time for reading to get through it and enjoy it. So I haven’t dismissed the possibility completely.

  10. aartichapati permalink
    February 5, 2015 12:29 pm

    Happy blogging anniversary! I’m so glad you are still trucking 🙂

  11. February 5, 2015 7:59 pm

    Happy Blogaversary! Seven years is a long time! I suppose you’ve already read Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next books, starting with The Eyre Affair, or I would recommend those. And The Martian by Andy Weir.

    • February 10, 2015 1:08 pm

      I love The Eyre Affair and wrote a series of posts about it near the beginning of my blogging career.
      The Weir title, though, is not familiar to me. Thanks!

  12. February 5, 2015 9:39 pm

    Hooray seven years! Congratulations. 🙂 How about Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, if you haven’t read it yet? It’s quick and strange and poetic and lovely. Or I think so, anyway. 🙂

    • February 10, 2015 1:10 pm

      It’s been a while since I read anything by Italo Calvino. I’ll try it!

  13. February 9, 2015 10:01 am

    Hope you had a great blogiversary! Blake is one of my favorites

  14. February 17, 2015 1:51 pm

    Belated happy blogiversary! I’ve learned a lot about poetry from you. I wouldn’t know where to start with recommendations that weren’t the cliqued well-known ones.

    • February 17, 2015 2:21 pm

      I’m glad to know that I’m helping to spread poetry love!

  15. February 17, 2015 1:51 pm

    *Cliched even.

Leave a Reply

