Skip to content

Book Recommendations from Bloggers

February 17, 2016

I love book recommendations. I love seeing what kinds of books other people like, and–in some cases–trying to figure out what on earth makes them like that sort of thing. In fact, for the past two years, on my blog anniversary (which came and went unnoticed this year), I’ve asked for recommendations from my readers. Last year’s recommendations were great, and I got to all but one. Not to worry, though, Kiirstin, I have a copy of Calvino’s Invisible Cities and mean to get to it soon.

Often I read something because another blogger wrote about it, but I’ve forgotten who by the time I find a copy. I’d like to say thanks more often for the good recommendations, but I guess it’s okay that I usually forget who liked something I couldn’t stand.

In the last year, I have read and loved a number of books that I picked up because of a fellow blogger. From my blog anniversary suggestions, I read The Martian sooner than I would have otherwise because of Laurie, and I probably wouldn’t have read When Mystical Creatures Attack! except for Tom’s suggestion.

I read Greensleeves because of Jenny, Revival because Care pointed out that it was right up my alley in terms of necromancy, and I picked out a poem by a person who is not like me from the Best American Poetry anthology of the last year because of Aarti’s annual A More Diverse Universe event.

Grub was an atypical read for me, but I picked it up because Stefanie’s description intrigued me. The advance copy of Charmed Particles that I enjoyed came out of my imaginary friendship with Kim. Wonders of the Invisible World is a book I didn’t initially set out to read, but I should have known that since Ana liked it, it would be nearly irresistible.

When I had given up on reading Marilynne Robinson, Victoria’s review of Lila brought me back to loving her writing again. Alex gave me the heads-up that Elizabeth Strout, author of Olive Kitteridge, had a new novel out, entitled My Name is Lucy Barton. And Serena introduced me to a poet I hadn’t read before by asking me to be part of her blog tour for Paradise Drive.

Other bloggers have mentioned books that I haven’t gotten to yet, among them Teresa and Jenny and Nerija. I hope to get to those in the next year, and any that you, my readers, choose to recommend–put your suggestions in the comments, please!

 

 

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2016 9:04 am

    I’m read The Hour of the Wolf by Hakan Nesser. I love his novels – and Scandinavian crime fiction in general. I’d be curious to know what you think. I’m also betting you’ll read it a lot faster than me.

  2. February 17, 2016 9:09 am

    Lots of influence there. I loved The Martian. One of my favourite books ever. And I read it because it made the blogging rounds, but not sure if it was because a specific person… Hard to remember sometimes!

    • February 17, 2016 12:27 pm

      I remember that specific recommendation because it came early, before the book got so popular. And also because it was on my yearly “recommend books to me” post for the blog anniversary, which I always try to get to before the next year.

  3. February 17, 2016 10:29 am

    I sure hope Founds is writing another book, if just to give me a chance to recommend Mystical Creatures some more.

    • February 17, 2016 12:27 pm

      I am forever indebted to you for the pleasure of reading Founds for the first time!

  4. February 17, 2016 10:33 am

    I had forgotten that I have When Mystical Creatures Attack on my Kindle until I saw this post! Thanks for jogging my memory!

  5. February 17, 2016 10:45 am

    I need to start keeping better track of who recommends what to me! I’m glad you loved The Martian. I should have included that audiobook in my post today, because I’m sure I listened to it to begin with because of book blogger buzz!

    • February 17, 2016 12:30 pm

      I don’t keep track all that well, but I do tend to remember a few particular revelations each year.

  6. February 17, 2016 12:31 pm

    You read Grub because of me? I’m so flattered! I read When Mystical Creatures Attack! because of Tom too. That was a fun book! I don;t keep track of books I learn about on blogs any longer because over 90% of what I read I learned about on someone’s blog, including yours! I do believe you were the one who finally tipped me over into reading Jo Walton, so thanks for that! 🙂

    • February 17, 2016 12:37 pm

      Yeah, I don’t think I always have a good handle on how to introduce a book in terms of how I got interested in it, so I didn’t explicitly say it was you who got me interested in Grub, just like I didn’t actually explain how knowing Kim from Sophisticated Dorkiness got me interested in reading Charmed Particles. Sometimes it just seems so involved I don’t say anything.
      I’m glad I got you reading Jo Walton!

  7. February 17, 2016 12:52 pm

    I love passing on books that I have enjoyed. I think it comes from all those years as a teacher when seeing a child engrossed in a book I had put into their hands was the greatest pleasure imaginable. I’m glad then to have passed on the new Elizabeth Strout and hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • February 17, 2016 3:29 pm

      Yes, the pleasure of seeing someone else enjoy what you discovered is great. I like getting recommendations as much or more, because I often love not only the book, but also learning something more about the kind of person who would recommend it.

  8. February 17, 2016 1:02 pm

    I have a hard time remembering who recommended a book too. All I know is that the bloggers did it!

    • February 17, 2016 3:30 pm

      True…sometimes I’ve read about a book several places, and then one particular review will tip me over into deciding to read it, but I don’t always remember which one was the tipping point.

  9. February 17, 2016 1:04 pm

    Ana has a special power of making books sound irresistible that I would ordinarily not be tempted by at all. And you have recommended many a book to me as well, friend! You are always reading books I’ve never heard of that are strange and fascinating, and it’s awesome. Thanks for being you! ❤

    • February 17, 2016 3:32 pm

      Back at ya–you read lots of books that I’ve never heard of! It’s a very satisfactory blogger relationship!
      And yes, Ana does make lots of books sound irresistible…although I can only think of one that I didn’t absolutely love when I got around to it.

  10. February 17, 2016 2:20 pm

    I find a new suggestion from another blogger every single day. We will never run out of reading material, will we? 🙂

  11. February 17, 2016 8:04 pm

    Paradise Drive.was so good, wasn’t it? I completely forgot to mention Serena and how she’s gotten me back into reading poetry.

    • February 17, 2016 8:32 pm

      That’s great! It’s nice to have a chance to remember who influenced us and how from time to time.

  12. February 18, 2016 9:52 am

    I took the easy way out yesterday without naming any specific names for books, but Aarti totally deserves a shoutout for her Diverse Universe, huh? My reading has become so much more aware because of her little event–I look forward to it every year!

    And I absolutely read The Martian solely because of other bloggers!

    • February 18, 2016 9:59 am

      Aarti makes it so easy to get interested and join in!

Trackbacks

  1. BBAW 2016 Day 3 – Blogger Influence #BBAW Yea, yea, I’m late to the party… – Care's Books and Pie

Leave a Reply

