Skip to content

Tricky Twenty-Two

April 18, 2016

On Friday I had to go by the library, and couldn’t resist the latest J.D. Robb mystery, Brotherhood in Death, and the latest Janet Evanovich, Tricky Twenty-Two, from the 7-day loan shelf.

I read both books and enjoyed them–nothing much wrong with either long-running series–except that poor Janet has gone several books beyond ridiculous with not having Stephanie Plum choose between Ranger and Morelli. She keeps trying to spin it out, but it is just done, as her mercifully brief and lame bit of explanation about Ranger shows:
“He was an amazing lover and friend but his journey was ultimately solitary. He had things in his past that were shaping his future. I didn’t know what they were but I knew they couldn’t be ignored.”
If that was representative of the kind of writing in this book, I wouldn’t be checking it out.

I think that, like Ranger, the reason I keep wanting to follow what Stephanie is doing is to see how her car is going to get destroyed this time. That certainly isn’t a disappointment in this latest book.

It was sunny and in the seventies this weekend, just right for reading outside. How was your weekend? Did you read anything new, or anything new from an old series?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2016 8:35 pm

    I am (re-re-re-x I am not sure how many times at this point) reading The Passage by Justin Cronin. The last of the three books is due to be published May 25 and I have it preordered and cannot wait.

    • April 18, 2016 9:34 pm

      I read that one on vacation a few years back. I never looked for the second one, but will wait to hear if you like the third before starting in again on that series!

  2. May 1, 2016 12:51 pm

    Oh Stephanie Plum… I tired of it before 11 and yet I probably would enjoy if I did get around to reading it. I would not at all be upset if trapped and only had these to read but I don’t seek the story anymore.

    • May 1, 2016 4:07 pm

      I don’t seek them anymore, but when I saw this one in the library, I was in the mood for it. And it didn’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

