Skip to content

Walker Percy Weekend Fanwear

June 1, 2016

We’re headed to St. Francisville, LA for the third annual Walker Percy Weekend, and we have our newest Walker Percy quotation t-shirts ready.

IMG_3822The first year, I made us t-shirts that reminded me of the pencils Lewis Lawson used to give out at University of Maryland, College Park at the end of his seminar on Walker Percy; they said “I’m a Percy Person.”

The second year, I made Ron a t-shirt and me a bag with a longer quotation, one that I think is partly about how much fun it is to hang out with other people who want to talk about a writer whose work you love in a gorgeous place that’s easy to fall in love with (and there’s a crawfish boil every year). One of the organizers of the second annual Walker Percy weekend, Rod Dreher, liked it that we made our own fanwear and took a photograph of me with my bag for his blog.IMG_3824

This year, we decided that our quotations don’t have to be the same, although we both picked one from The Moviegoer, the novel that used to be my least favorite but which I’ve liked better since rereading it last year. I have this on my t-shirt.IMG_3820

And Ron has this one on his t-shirt, which is fun because St. Francisville, LA is in Feliciana Parish and because there’s a great front porch at the St. Francisville Inn, where we’re staying again this year, for sitting in the dark and talking about ideas from books beloved to everyone present.IMG_3821

Update: I see that there’s an official quotation t-shirt for this year, pictured here, on Rod Dreher’s blog.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2016 10:06 am

    I like that you are the kind of people who go away for a weekend devoted to a particular author. Go sit on the porch and talk about ideas, when you’ve finished your wandering for the day!

    • June 1, 2016 11:26 am

      …And not just any particular author! The first year we met his daughter, Mary Pratt, and told her that we have a son named Walker. She said “well, I have two nephews and a cousin named Walker.”

  2. June 2, 2016 4:47 pm

    Everyone is going to be envious of your t-shirts!

    • June 2, 2016 9:45 pm

      I hope so! We debated about putting the author’s name, and I decided that they should know.

  3. June 2, 2016 9:43 pm

    I AM EXCITED TO SEE Y’ALL. I am just sad y’all weren’t here this past weekend so you could’ve had my dad’s crawfish etouffee. He always makes a good etouffee, but this most recent one was on a whole other level. (Don’t worry though. We’ll get some good food into y’all while we have you. :p)

    • June 2, 2016 9:51 pm

      We are really excited too! The food is one of the things we look forward to when we come to see you! This might be our first thunderstorm-y WP weekend, but we’re still hoping for some warm evenings and looking forward to all sorts of readerly company!

  4. June 5, 2016 11:00 am

    I like the wander on purpose and read as a diversion quote especially!

Leave a Reply

