Skip to content

Desultory Reading

June 13, 2016

On my way to Walker Percy Weekend, I re-read The Second Coming, which is a kind of sequel to The Last Gentleman. It’s always good to remind myself why I love something before getting together with other people to talk about how much we love it.

At home, before going to sleep, I’ve read the books about the Cassons that come after Saffy’s Angel—Indigo’s Star, Permanent Rose, and Caddy Ever After. They’re nice enough children’s books, and I would have loved them if I’d read them when I was younger, especially the part about how the childrens’ mother doesn’t pay much attention to them.

I started reading Cinder, the first one in Marissa Meyer’s series she calls The Lunar Chronicles, and liked it well enough to go on to Scarlet, and then Cress and Winter. The way she uses the fairy tales is interesting, but it inevitably contributes to the way the books can’t get away from the romantic plot. No matter how interesting we might find the robots Cinder works on, the flying vehicle Scarlet pilots, the version of the world wide web (in this case, the world and moon) that Cress navigates, or the planet of mind-controllers Winter belongs to, their stories ultimately boil down to the man they fall in love with, and how they rescue him to live happily ever after, a kind of feminist love story.

Maybe in the next few weeks I’ll do some more ambitious reading and find some books that compel me to talk about them with an unseen and often unheard-from audience. Right now, though, it’s like I’m on intake-only mode.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2016 9:27 am

    Ha, I would not have pegged you for a natural Cinder reader. I enjoyed the first three books well enough — because I was in the mood for that kind of thing when I read them — but I haven’t bothered reading the last one (at least, I haven’t so far, maybe soon).

    Are you going to read Forever Rose? It wraps everything up nicely, I think. But I also love Hilary McKay maybe more than you do. :p

    • June 13, 2016 9:33 am

      What interested me in Cinder, finally and MOST atypically, was the cover art–the picture of the bionic ankle. Having a bionic knee myself, I wanted to find out more about what the ankle signified, and why this Cinderella would lose her shoe. I’m a pretty regular reader of fairy-tale retellngs, too. I like a dose of them every once in a while.
      Now that you reminded me of the title, I will look for Forever Rose. I found the others at the library.

  2. June 13, 2016 9:27 am

    I haven’t read any of the books you mention, so I’m afraid I can’t contribute much discussion as an audience member. I like reading your reflections, however, even when I haven’t read the books.

    • June 13, 2016 9:36 am

      Thanks for saying so–every once in a while, I like a reminder of who is reading because it helps me to picture an audience as I write.
      Although I do subscribe to the “blog as commonplace book” idea, I don’t think that makes enough sense to keep a person going for years and years. I don’t “write for myself.”

Leave a Reply

