Skip to content

The Sparrow

June 15, 2016

IMG_3845Recently Eleanor read The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell, for the first time. It’s an experience of a book, and if you haven’t read it, I recommend it. Notice, however, that we thought Eleanor, at 22, was finally old enough to read this book.

Mary Doria Russell lives in a suburb of Cleveland, so I wasn’t all that surprised to get a message from my public library last week, telling me that she was going to be signing books in our downtown bookstore and then giving a talk at the library. She talked about all her books, and they each seem to explore “the problem of evil” in some way. Her own favorite is Doc, and she got me interested in reading Dreamers of the Day.

IMG_3844Here is a photo of Mary, sitting in one of the armchairs at the downtown bookstore with her little dog, talking about her books with a group of about a dozen people, before she signed everyone’s books.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2016 2:08 pm

    That is so cool – seems like such an informal gathering. I read The Sparrow for my book group some years ago. It was INTENSE. I’ve never read anything else by her.

    • June 15, 2016 2:19 pm

      It was quite informal–some friends of the library, a few people who I think meet regularly at the bookstore to discuss books, a couple of people who, like me, wandered in (I thought it was going to be a book signing, and it was, but she and/or the bookstore people had decided that didn’t mean she had to sit behind a table!).

  2. June 15, 2016 8:05 pm

    I saw her at Politics and Prose when she was on tour for Doc, and it was one of the best author talks I’ve been to. She shared a lot about her research, and it was so interesting. I’ve only read (and adored) The Sparrow, but her enthusiasm for Doc was clear. I still have my copy. I should read it soon.

    • June 15, 2016 8:47 pm

      You should! And then maybe you can convince me to read it.
      I’ve just started Dreamers of the Day.

  3. June 16, 2016 2:13 pm

    I have not read The Sparrow though it is one I mean to read sometime. I am thinking I should move up my TBR list?

    • June 16, 2016 8:15 pm

      It really is an experience. I think summer is the right time to read a book like this.

  4. June 23, 2016 8:02 am

    Happy you got your book signed and had the opportunity to listen to the author, especially as it sounds like you have a history with the book.

    • June 26, 2016 6:13 pm

      I read the book years ago, and have re-read it several times, although there’s a surprise that makes the initial experience of reading it hard to equal.

Leave a Reply

