Skip to content

The Women’s March

January 19, 2018

I’ve organized an anniversary event for our weekly demonstration, Signs on the Square, on Saturday, January 20. It’s hard to believe it’s been a year. I’m not sure if I can find my pussy hat, but I’ve had some help designing banners that say “Reform Congress” and I will hold a sign asking my (Republican) congressman why he’s gone 345 days without a town hall.Banners for Signs on the Square - Reform Congress

The Women’s March
by Philip Schultz

So many mothers are here, daughters and granddaughters.
Mine’s been dead for nineteen years but somehow
managed to come. I’m seeing her everywhere,
in the pleased-with-itself smile of the little girl
riding her father’s shoulders, holding a sign
announcing girl power and the beginning of the
Women’s Century, in the don’t-mess-with-me look
of the much-pierced young woman in black
who appears to have finally found her cadence,
in the excited green/gray eyes of the old woman
in a wheelchair being pushed along at quite a clip
by, I assume, her grandson, who looks absolutely
mesmerized. And just ahead is the forceful stride
of the black drummer banging away for all she is
and wants to be, using everything she has to make
a point about strength and willfulness and sacrifice
that maybe only women have the right to make,
having made all of us, shared themselves so completely.
A point about going too far and not far enough,
about time, and the pain it brings, and yes, here I am,
older than I ever intended to be, enjoying the ringing
in my ears, remembering being lifted into the air
by my mother, trembling with joy, as she enfolded
me into the hospitable wings of her peasant apron.
Yes, she’s here, marching with all the others, all of whom
understand what’s being asked of them, one more time.

Every Saturday for the past year it’s been one more time.

Here is the start of my letter to the editor of the local newspaper, asking everyone in the area who feels like the past year hasn’t been life as usual to come out for our demonstration this week:
How did you feel last year at this time, on the eve of the inauguration of the 45th president of the United States and the Women’s March on Washington? Apprehensive? Angry? Triumphant? And how do you feel now, after a year of legislation? Has what you were angry or triumphant about come to pass?

How about you—how do you feel now?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2018 5:56 pm

    Will be with you in spirit; the spirit is willing, but the flesh has a very bad case of ME/CFS crashing – I can’t even do the online version this weekend. Hope it’s a great march.

    • January 20, 2018 3:09 pm

      We had 80-100 people come out, which is pretty good for this small town.

      • January 20, 2018 7:18 pm

        How wonderful – I might have planned better, had I known it was coming, but being me, I always get things tenth hand, and that increases the ‘degree of difficulty’ for the stunt.

  2. Alice Couvillon permalink
    January 20, 2018 12:34 am

    Disgusted by the mean spiritedness of this administration and the people who support him. I’m embarrassed for our country in the eyes of the world . I am alarmed by the changes he is trying to make, but I am heartened by the fight against him. And, I am ready to take our government back.

  3. January 20, 2018 10:44 am

    So many feelings. First of all, I love that poem. Thank you for sharing it. I, too, am heartened by the continued resistance to his disastrous and cruel policy changes. I am thankful for journalists and the courts. I am hopeful for 2018 elections. I am sad for the people of color who he is determined to boot from our country. I am sad for the kids’ lives the GOP have played political football with in not funding the CHIP program. So many feelings. So many emails and calls to my senators and reps, seemingly going down a void but I’m going to keep sending them anyway.

    • January 20, 2018 3:10 pm

      Yes, it does seem like the calls and emails are going down a void, but I’m going to keep sending them and campaign for better representatives in 2018.

  4. Jenny permalink
    January 22, 2018 4:11 pm

    We had our march in Spokane on Sunday. Eastern WA is more conservative than Seattle, so 6000+ people was deeply heartening. We are not ever alone. Losses are inevitable but in union is strength. Take care, Jeanne.

    • January 23, 2018 9:21 am

      That is heartening. I’m glad to hear about marches in so many parts of the country.

  5. January 23, 2018 4:51 pm

    Good for you for doing this! That’s amazing you were able to get your town engaged. I went to the March in NYC and it was incredible! Wish you all the best – speak766

    • January 25, 2018 3:52 pm

      It’s not just me working to get more of the town engaged! I’m a bit late to the party, but better late than never.

  6. January 25, 2018 12:50 pm

    Great turnout! Love the poem. How am I feeling? Tired. Really, really tired. But not ready to give up.

what do you think about this?