Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

May 20, 2011

Children’s: What rainforest creature says “Slowly, Slowly, Slowly” in an Eric Carle book title?

Classics: What H.G. Wells tale has Edward Prendick observing: “It seemed that grotesque ugliness was an invariable character of these islanders”?

Non-Fiction: What Pulitzer-winning book lauds college prof Joshua Chamberlain’s heroism at Gettysburg?

Book Club: What 1994 tale of trapper Loyal Blood’s wanderings won E. Annie Proulx the first PEN/Faulkner Award given to a woman?

Authors: What author got his friend Warren Zevon to record a song from his novel  Basket Case?

Book Bag: What collectively written tale of a centenarian environmentalist and her waterlogged pal began as a serial in the Miami Herald?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 7:36 am

    Children’s: The Sloth

    Classics: The Island of Dr. Moreau

    Non-Fiction: I’m sure my husband knows this one, but I don’t

    Book Club: Postcards. Ugh. I do no like Proulx. Apparently everyone else does, though.

    Authors: Hiassen? really? I only know this because AJ and I are reading Hoot and I was looking up what else Hiassen had written.

    Book Bag: I don’t know, but I”d like to find out.

    • May 20, 2011 7:38 am

      Oops. Sorry about the extra stuff at the beginning of my comment. I pasted your post in first so I didn’t have to flip back and forth between comments and questions, but I didn’t manage to erase it all afterwards. That is one of the things I did like about blogspot: the ability to put the post and the comment you are writing in parallel columns so you can see what you’re replaying to. Feel free to edit out the irrelevant stuff.

      • May 20, 2011 8:49 am

        I did take some stuff out at the beginning. I’m horrified that I can change things about your comment. That should not be, but WP makes it so.

        • May 20, 2011 5:09 pm

          Well, I for one appreciate it. I’ll try not to be such a klutz next time.

  2. May 20, 2011 8:27 am

    I don’t know any of these, but I did have The Killer Angels within reach so I pulled it off the shelf to see if it won the Pulitzer to satisfy the NF question. Why yes! but it’s fiction, isn’t it?

    and just had to stop by and say uh oh. WP changes up the look of the dashboard right after you switch! Please bear with it. 😉

    • May 20, 2011 9:08 am

      Care, you make a good point about the category of that question. All I can say is that the cards do have errors sometimes, especially in terms of category (some of the stuff they think is “classics”!).
      I wasn’t attached to the old dashboard, so no big deal for me.

  3. Karen permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:09 am

    Children’s=the sloth, but I really don’t know the rest!

  4. freshhell permalink
    May 20, 2011 9:11 am

    *shrugs*

  5. May 22, 2011 12:35 am

    I agree with Harriet about Classics and Authors, but haven’t a clue about the others.

  6. May 23, 2011 7:24 am

    Children’s: The sloth
    Classics: The Island of Doctor Moreau
    Non-Fiction: The Killer Angels
    Book Club: Postcards
    Authors: Carl Hiassen
    Book Bag: Naked Came the Manatee

    The non-fiction categorization is obviously a bit loose this week!

Leave a Reply

