Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

May 27, 2011

Children’s: What animal made a meal of James’ parents, in James and the Giant Peach?

Classics: What famous person is the title character in D.H. Lawrence’s story The Man Who Died?

Non-Fiction: What English punkster recalled his boyhood days in 1950s Britain in the autobiography No Irish, No Blacks, No Dogs?

Book Club: What Alice Hoffman novel tells of Stephen’s return to the human world after being raised by wolves?

Authors: Who told Barnes and Noble that spotting his debut novel Anthropology in a Sex and the City episode was the pinnacle of his showbiz career?

Book Bag: What character, based on real-life serial killer Ed Gein, is at last hunted down by Clarice Starling in The Silence of the Lambs?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 8:34 am

    Children’s: A rhinoceros. From the London Zoo, if I remember correctly. I lived across the park from the London Zoo (we could hear the wolves howl at night while we were safely in our flat) when I was a kid and used to wonder about the rhinos. This is the only Dahl book I didn’t really enjoy and never read to AJ, so I’m not entirely certain I’m remembering this right.

    Classics: Is that the one that’s a retelling of the life of Christ? I know there’s one that used to have a more lascivious name that is.

    Non-Fiction: Johnny Rotten!

    Book Club: ? I should probably know this. I don’t think I’ve ever read any Hoffman. I keep meaning too, but whenever I pick up one of her books, something else calls my name.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: Hannibal Lector

  2. Karen D permalink
    May 27, 2011 9:28 am

    Clarice hunts down Jame Gumb, and that’s all I really know this week!

  3. May 27, 2011 11:07 am

    Children’s: A rhino

    Book Bag: Buffalo Bill (I think)

  4. May 27, 2011 11:15 am

    I feel like I should know many more of these, but the one that I do know is the rhinoceros

  5. May 27, 2011 8:13 pm

    Children’s: Rhinoceros
    Classics: I assume Jesus, but I’m just guessing
    Book Bag: Buffalo Bill! HA! I knew there was a reason I saw that scary-ass movie. It was so that I could answer this question.

  6. May 27, 2011 8:35 pm

    I only know Children’s, it’s a rhinoceros, which is so silly. It has always amazed me that such enormous animals are vegetarians.

    I once got to feed a rhino at the Lowry Park Zoo in Tampa, FL (rhino chow, which looked like tiny kibbles) and while it was eating I got to touch it. I was on the outside of a fence so it was perfectly safe. It felt like a giant living rock. Of course I had to pay for this privilege but it was worth it. At Lowry Park you can also ride a camel and feed the giraffes crackers but they don’t like to be touched. It’s cool though, their tongues are incredibly long.

  7. May 30, 2011 10:24 am

    I have neglected to bring the card with me on my travels, so will provide answers to these tomorrow!

  8. May 31, 2011 6:50 pm

    Book Bag: Buffalo Bill! all the rest are a mystery to me.

  9. Karen permalink
    May 31, 2011 10:44 pm

    For the record, I am pretty sure that the person known popularly as Buffalo Bill in the novel was actually Jame Gumb (also in the novel.)

  10. June 1, 2011 8:48 am

    Got delayed an extra day on my travels, as some of you know! Here, finally, are the answers the card provides:

    Children’s: a rhinoceros
    Classics: Jesus Christ
    Non-Fiction: Johnny Rotten, or John Lydon
    Book Club: Second Nature
    Authors: Dan Rhodes
    Book Bag: Jame Gumb, or “Buffalo Bill”

Leave a Reply

