Skip to content

Remarkably Bright Creatures

May 23, 2024

Remarkably Bright Creatures, by Shelby Van Pelt, is the second book with an octopus on the cover that I’ve read recently (the first was A Curious Hunger). This one is a novel told from several points of view, including that of an octopus named Marcellus.

Marcellus actually begins the narrative, explaining how he got his name and why he lives in an aquarium, saying that the plaque beside his tank “states…my size, preferred diet, and where I might live were I not a prisoner here.” The second point of view is human, a 70-year-old woman named Tova who cleans the aquarium and sees Marcellus exploring the break room, looking for takeout cartons. After a few chapters of back and forth between Marcellus and Tova, readers are presented with the third main point of view in the novel, that of twenty-something Cameron, who eventually edges his way into the aquarium and the story of Marcellus and Tova.

One of the things I love about this novel is how we gradually get to know a little about the characters who aren’t telling the story, like Ethan, owner of the Shop-Way in Tova’s town. Ethan reminds me of the cashier at Kroger in my own small town who always remembered my name, and also of the person at the dry cleaner and the orthopedist’s office who have the same talent. When Tova comes in he tells her that he “had your number punched in no sooner’n you came through the door.”

Tova drifts around her house, which is full of memories of her parents, brother, husband and child, who have all died before her. She is thinking about selling the house and moving to a retirement community. Marcellus drifts around his tank, hiding lost keys and jewelry that he finds in the aquarium building. Cameron drifts into town, takes over Tova’s job while she’s out with an injury, and finds out who his father is. All of these things turn out to be connected.

It’s a lovely book. I enjoyed reading it so much I didn’t take many notes. Perhaps I drifted through. I did make a note about the second mention of the title because it was so charming—at the beginning of the novel, we see a sign on Marcellus’ tank informing visitors that “octopuses are remarkably bright creatures” and near the end, the octopus thinks that humans are occasionally “remarkably bright creatures.”

I loved the ending. The plot comes together in a superbly satisfying way, and the characterizations make you care about these characters. If you haven’t read this book yet, don’t wait too much longer.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2024 5:07 am

    Sounds terrific, especially characterizations that make you care. I don’t love books where I can’t care about the characters, admirable though they may be in many other ways.

    • May 23, 2024 3:29 pm

      I do think it’s terrific; I cared about each of the characters!

  2. Carol Schumacher permalink
    May 23, 2024 7:30 am

    I also loved this book. (I read it a while ago, so I was excited to read your take on it.)

    • May 23, 2024 3:30 pm

      It’s a rare book that gets me to suspend my usual critical reading techniques!

  3. May 23, 2024 11:08 am

    This sounds lovely. It seems like Octopi are getting a lot of attention these days and rightfully so, such interesting critters!

    • May 23, 2024 3:35 pm

      Yes!

      I went snorkeling by myself a few years ago, over some rocks at the side of a beach on Maui (Wailea) and saw an octopus in the wild. It was undulating at the bottom, in a sandy place between rocks. It’s always a little scary to meet large sea creatures in the sea, so I give them a wide berth and go on my way.

  4. May 23, 2024 1:48 pm

    I’d be in two minds about attempting a narrative partly told by a non-human being but from your review and a couple of the other responses here it appears it works extremely well!

    • May 23, 2024 3:37 pm

      Surprisingly well. The octopus point of view isn’t funny or sentimentalized. It’s possible that an octopus would pay less attention to humans than this one does, but he is a captive in an aquarium, so doesn’t have much else to look at or think about.

  5. May 26, 2024 3:41 pm

    I think this would be a book that I would probably love. But I have been hesitant to read it – I think I was afraid it would be too sad. (Both from the main human’s and the octopus’s POV.)

  6. May 27, 2024 4:07 pm

    I have not yet read this book because I have a stupid aversion to celebrity book club picks. 😂 However, I am fascinated by how clever the octopus is, so now you’ve got me. They also fit through teeny holes

    • May 28, 2024 2:31 pm

      I live in a fog, so I was unconscious about whatever celebrity picked this book. I’m also fascinated by how clever the octopus is, and what escape artists some of them can be!

      • May 31, 2024 9:40 am

        Oh! I only noticed it is a celebrity book pick because now they put their big ol’ sticker on the front. I’m not even sure who some of these people are. Who is Jenna?? Is that John McCain’s daughter? I don’t even know.

what do you think about this?